Talmud, Midrash, Responsa, Other Commentaries

My class reading and lecture last week were on the Jewish foundational texts other than the Bible, i.e. the Talmud, commentaries on the Talmud, Midrash, and Responsa.  So here is my summary of what I’ve learned:

  • The basis of Judaism is scholarly debate and having multiple interpretations of every aspect of the law, the Torah, and other sacred texts.
  • Judaism evolves over time; commentaries on sacred texts never end.
  • Everything about everyday life is important and worth commenting on.
  • Explanations of Jewish law are meant to be accessible and understandable by all.
All of these things draw me even more to Judaism.  I’m a huge believer in debate and multiple points of view, especially with regard to law and ways of life.  There is no one absolute truth; and even if there was, there’s no way we as humans would know for sure what it is.  I also love that Judaism evolves and adapts to current times and everyday life.  A huge lack of that is what I hated about Catholicism, and I felt so out of place among its teachings and dogma.  Furthermore, Judaism regards every ordinary person as worthy of having relevant commentaries and sacred texts written on their everyday life, and worthy of understanding those texts.  That is why commentaries and responsa keep being written, to keep clarifying the law and making it accessible to all.  I think it shows a great deal of respect for the intelligence, holiness, and overall worthiness of the ordinary person.  And all these things make it the ideal religion, I believe.
Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Talmud, Midrash, Responsa, Other Commentaries

  1. Jim "O'Rourke says:

    When Bea (wife) and I have attended Shabbat services, we’ve always felt welcomed and valued. We’ve done this many times because of her work with the poor and distressed. Jewish congregations were always among the most responsive physically, emotionally, and financially.

    I’m happy for you that Judaism has engaged you. My experiences with Jesuit education and texts was an enlightenment for me because it transcended the rigidity and irrelevance I had always found uncomfortable. That you care at all about religion and are willing to invest time and intellect in it, makes you something of an anomaly among your peers. But, then again, you were always a lovable anomaly.

  2. Very good points. I love how Judaism is a religion of common sense.

  3. cormac828 says:

    I agree with Samantha. One thing I’ve always admired about Judaism is it teaches you to think for yourself. Whereas in most schools, religious and secular, you’re only meant to repeat what the teacher tells you. Anything else and you’re sure to flunk.

Leave a comment